Northern Ireland

The Transfer Test with information about the AQE exam and the PPTC (GL) papers.

The Transfer Test

is the name given to the Elevenplus exam in Northern Ireland.

For many years the 11+examinations in Northern Ireland consisted of Verbal Reasoning papers but from 1993/94

the examination was based on English, Mathematics and Science questions.

In more recent years the Transfer Test (as it is now known) has been based on English and mathematics.

In September of the child's primary seven year parents are given the choice as to whether they want their child to sit the 11 plus or not, taking the examination is not compulsory. Though it does seem that year on year the numbers of children taking the Transfer Tests is increasing.

The exam is now organised by two different groups of schools setting two different entrance examinations.

The two groups are:

Post Primary Tranfer Consortium (GL assessment)

Association for Quality Education (AQE)

PPTC (GL assessment)
The post-primary schools listed below are all using the same standardised Entrance Assessment in English and Mathematics for the Transfer of children to Year 8 in September 2016. An Irish Medium Entrance Assessment is available.
Parent(s)/Guardian(s) who may wish to make an application to one or more of these schools on behalf of their child should obtain and complete a Registration Form.

One Registration Form usually covers all the schools listed. Registration will enable arrangements to be made for your child to sit the Entrance Assessment in one of the schools.
The child will not have to sit different Entrance Assessments for different schools in the list. Assessment outcomes can be shared among the schools listed below.
There may be a charge for registration or for taking the Entrance Assessment.

Children with a Statement of Special Educational Needs.
Normally if your child has a Statement of Special Educational Needs, placement in a post-primary school is arranged through the relevant Education and Library Board. There may not be a requirement for him/her to sit the Entrance Assessment

Participating schools using the PPTC (GL)

Abbey Christian Brothers' Grammar School
Antrim Grammar School
Aquinas Grammar School
Assumption Grammar School
Campbell College
Christian Brothers Grammar School
Christian Brothers' Abbey Grammar School
Dominican College, Belfast
Dominican College, Portstewart
Hunterhouse College
Lagan College
Loreto College
Loreto Grammar School
Lumen Christi College
Mount Lourdes Grammar School
Our Lady and St Patrick's College
Our Lady's Grammar School
Rainey Endowed
Rathmore Grammar School
Sacred Heart Grammar School
Slemish Integrated College
St Colman's College
St Columb's College
St. Dominic's High School
St Joseph's Grammar School
St Louis Grammar School, Ballymena
St Louis Grammar School, Kilkeel
St Malachy's College
St Mary's Christian Brothers' Grammar School
St Mary’s Grammar School
St Michael's College, Enniskillen
St Patrick's Academy, Dungannon
St Patrick's Grammar School, Armagh
St Patrick's Grammar School, Downpatrick
Thornhill College
Victoria College
Wellington College Belfast

**This list may change -please contact the school of your choice for details.**

(Material available on this site will provide useful practice material.)


Association for Quality Education.

The AQE test is also known as CEA (Common Entrance Assessment) and will be based on three one-hour assessments which take account of the English and Mathematics components of the present primary school curriculum. Only marks in the best two will count. If they wish, parents may elect to enter their child for only two of the three papers. Unlike the old 11+,there will not be a supplementary paper.

Schools using the AQE Exam (CEA)


Belfast Royal Academy
Bloomfield Collegiate
Campbell College
Grosvenor Grammar
Hunterhouse College
Methodist College
Strathearn School
Victoria College
Wellington College


Bangor Grammar School
Down High School
Friends’ School Lisburn
Glenlola Collegiate
Regent House School
Sullivan Upper School
The Wallace High School


Antrim Grammar School
Ballyclare High School
Ballymena Academy
Belfast High School
Cambridge House G.S.
Carrickfergus Grammar
Coleraine Grammar School
Dalriada School
Larne Grammar School


Collegiate Grammar, Enniskillen
Foyle College
Limavady Grammar School
Omagh Academy
Strabane Academy
Portora Royal School


Banbridge Academy
Royal School Armagh
Royal School Dungannon


Learning Together provide AQE and PPTC practice material in:-

** This information is provided for guidance only and while the content is, to the best of our knowledge, accurate we cannot be held in any way responsible for any errors or omissions that it may contain.This list may change -please contact the school of your choice for details.**